TUMentrepreneurship

With the TUMentrepreneurship strategic concept, TUM set itself the goal of increasing the number of start-ups of growth-oriented technology companies from the sciences. The project is funded by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi) as part of an EXIST competition entitled “Culture of Entrepreneurship – Entrepreneur University.”

TUMentrepreneurship
The planned activities focus on scientists and scholars at Technical University of Munich who have thus far had too little exposure to business start-ups. The aim is to unlock entrepreneurial potential, especially in future-focused areas with high levels of added value for society: medical engineering, clean tech, life sciences and information and communication technology. With support from the “EXIST Culture of Entrepreneurship – Entrepreneur University” program, Technical University of Munich is developing four entrepreneurship elements as part of TUMentrepreneurship together with its affiliate Institute for Innovation and Start-ups, UnternehmerTUM:

Efficient Spin-off Process
The focus lies in implementing a systematic start-up process. This should motivate scientists and scholars to found growth and technology-oriented start-ups. Start-up advisors run a one-stop shop for advice, from focusing a business to concrete implementation, answering any and all questions on the topic of starting a business. The start-up process involves developing entrepreneurial talent from the academic sector, finding applications for research findings and technologies through start-ups and establishing growth-oriented companies.


Entrepreneurship Culture
This involves setting up processes that promote start-ups, efficient flows of communication and an infrastructure that nurtures creativity. An attractive incentive system is tasked with helping to provide academic founders with more time, premises and motivation through role models or awards for outstanding start-up teams.


Entrepreneurship Network
Regional, national and international networks are being established with entrepreneurial talents, inventors, experts, investors, pilot customers and alumni. It is crucial to make TUM’s strong entrepreneurial network accessible to potential founders.

Entrepreneurship Research
The use of state-of-the-art methods and tools is necessary to effectively implement the start-up process as part of TUMentrepreneurship. The aim is to develop a knowledge base that expands upon current findings in entrepreneurship research and develops best-practice methods for growth-oriented technology companies.

TUMentrepreneurship

Mit dem Strategiekonzept TUMentrepreneurship hat sich die TUM zum Ziel gesetzt, die Anzahl von Ausgründungen wachstumsorientierter Technologie-Unternehmen aus der Wissenschaft zu erhöhen. Das Projekt wird gefördert vom BMWi im EXIST-Wettbewerb „Gründungskultur – Die Gründerhochschule“.

TUMentrepreneurship
Im Fokus der geplanten Aktivitäten stehen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Technischen Universität München, die bisher noch zu wenig für Unternehmensgründungen sensibilisiert sind. Dieses unternehmerische Potenzial soll vor allem in vier Zukunftsfeldern mit hohem gesellschaftlichen Mehrwert aktiviert werden: Medizintechnik, Clean Tech, Life Sciences und Informations- & Kommunikationstechnologie. Mit Unterstützung von „EXIST-Gründungskultur – Die Gründerhochschule“ entwickelt die Technische Universität München zusammen mit ihrem An-Institut für Innovation und Ausgründung UnternehmerTUM dazu im Rahmen von TUMentrepreneurship vier Entrepreneurship-Elemente:

Effizienter Spin-off Prozess
Im Mittelpunkt steht die Implementierung eines systematischen Ausgründungsprozesses. Dabei sollen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler zur Gründung von wachstums- und technologieorientierten Start-ups motiviert werden. GründungsberaterInnen geben in einer zentralen Anlaufstelle (One-Stop Agency) Orientierungshilfe sowie konkrete Unterstützung in allen Fragen rund um Unternehmensgründungen. Der Ausgründungsprozess beinhaltet die Entwicklung unternehmerischer Talente aus der Wissenschaft, die Verwertung von Forschungsergebnissen bzw. Technologien durch Ausgründungen, sowie den Aufbau wachstumsorientierter Unternehmen.

Entrepreneurship Culture
In diesem Bereich geht es um die Schaffung gründungsfördernder Prozesse, effizienter Kommunikationsflüsse und einer kreativitätsfördernden Infrastruktur. Ein attraktives Anreizsystem hat die Aufgabe, Gründerinnen und Gründer aus der Wissenschaft zeitlich zu entlasten, Räume zur Verfügung zu stellen sowie zur Motivation durch Vorbilder oder Auszeichnung herausragender Gründerteams beizutragen.

Entrepreneurship Netzwerk
Regionale, nationale und internationale Netzwerke mit unternehmerischen Talenten, Erfindern, Experten, Investoren, Pilotkunden und Alumni werden ausgebaut. Entscheidend ist, potenziellen Gründerinnen und Gründern das starke unternehmerische Netzwerk der TUM zugänglich zu machen.

Entrepreneurship Forschung
Für die wirksame Umsetzung des Ausgründungsprozesses im Rahmen von TUMentrepreneurship ist der Einsatz moderner Methoden und Werkzeuge erforderlich. Ziel ist es, eine Wissensbasis zu erarbeiten, die auf aktuellen Ergebnissen aus der Entrepreneurship-Forschung (TUM Entrepreneurship Research Institute) aufbaut und Best Practice-Methoden für wachstumsorientierte Technologieunternehmen entwickelt.